Cooking Adventures: Sweet Potatoes

Though I haven’t had many opportunities to do so lately, I really enjoy cooking, both for myself and for others. I can’t eat gluten, and when I first found that out I had to make a lot of changes to my eating habits to avoid making myself sick. This necessity turned into something I enjoy, and I’ve been building a collection of my favorite methods and recipes for when I get the urge to play in the kitchen. Here’s one I’ve been using for holiday dinners and potlucks lately:

 

Baked Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients
Sweet potatoes, washed and peeled (enough to fit in the pan! Maybe 4? If you get too many, you may just have to cook some more – what a disaster!)
2 c water or chicken broth
2 sticks butter
2 c brown sugar
fresh ginger
cinnamon
mace
sea salt

Preheat oven to 375F.
Cut sweet potatoes into 1/2″ disks. Lay out in a 9″ x 13″ baking dish. Add all other ingredients to dish.
Cover
tightly. Bake until soft.

 

These have turned out great every time I’ve made them, despite the fuzziness of the recipe details! Clearly it was because of the blood sacrifice I made the first time I made them: the knife slipped when I was cutting the sweet potatoes, and I opened up my pinky finger. I spent the next 10 minutes keeping myself from going into shock through sheer force of will. Unexpected lessons from the kitchen: going into shock is not required! You can choose not to. It’s extremely uncomfortable but possible.

Enjoy! And do remember, the blood sacrifice is not necessary for success.

– H

Leave a Reply

