Cooking Adventures: Chili

Usually when I cook, I make big portions. This leaves plenty for leftovers for the next few days, which means I don’t have to cook every day. With my schedule, that’s really important – if I had to cook every day, I’d either spend all my time doing that, or I would be eating fast food a lot more often…

One of my favorite recipes is chili. It’s a big recipe, and very tasty, and it reheats well in the microwave. Here it is:

 

Chili

Brown 2 lb ground beef and add to the pot (you’ll need a big one – I usually use a soup pot).

While the ground beef is cooking, chop up a medium onion and 2 cloves of garlic (or really, as little or as much garlic as you want. I’m biased. I really like garlic) and add to the pot.

Add 1 pint (or one can) of beef broth, one can of stewed tomatoes, and one can of pinto beans to the pot.

Add 1 hot pepper and bring to a boil. When the boil starts, add 1 tbsp chili powder.

Cover pot, reduce heat to simmer for 1 hour. Remove the pepper and crush the juice into the pot.

Add:
2 1/2 tbsp chili powder
2 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/4 tsp white pepper
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 cube beef bouillon
1/2 cube chicken bouillon
1/2 tsp brown sugar

Continue simmering with lid on for 30 minutes.

Add:
2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
Salt to taste

Simmer covered for 15 minutes more, then serve.

 

This is my favorite recipe. I pulled it from a website many years ago and have been making little modifications since then (the original used garlic and onion powder, and no beans). I’m one of those people who is completely happy eating the same meal several days in a row, so I’ll gladly make a pot of this and feed myself all week.

¡Buen provecho!

  • H

 

Source: well I got it from a site called http://www.goodchilirecipes.com, but it seems that domain has expired in the past, oh, 6 years. Good thing I kept a printout!

Leave a Reply

